Trip to Poughkipsee NY to see the Collings Foundation’s B-24, B-17 and P-51 WWII Warbirds

Posted: August 24, 2015 in Trips in 500x
Tags: , , , ,
thumb_IMG_0936_1024

B-17 and B-24 WWII Bombers in the distance behind my Orange 500x

I took a trip of 250 miles from my home state of New Hampshire to Poughkeepsie NY to Duchess Airport in my new Fiat 500x to see the Collings Foundation’s Wings of Freedom Tour. It’s not just because I like old airplanes, my son is currently one of the pilots of these planes.

thumb_IMG_0871_1024

B-24J Liberator “Witchcraft”

I have flown in the B-24 last year somewhere in Maryland, so I was looking forward into flying the B-17 this time.

thumb_IMG_0876_1024

People lining up to tour the B-17 airplane before the flight

After hanging around a few hours. Zane, our flight engineer gave us a briefing and we went into the airplane. I got to sit in cockpit behind the two pilots.

thumb_IMG_0892_1024

I got to sit right behind the pilots in the cockpit.

thumb_IMG_0907_1024

My son Robert at the controls during the flight

thumb_IMG_0911_1024

During the flight we flew over the Army’s West Point Academy

thumb_IMG_0920_1024

I stuck my head up into the top gunner’s bubble during the flight

It was a great flight and it was a very proud father moment to watch my son fly this great old airplane. I am so extremely proud of his accomplishments as a pilot.

thumb_IMG_0872_1024

Here is one of the most photographed airplanes in the world, The Collings Foundation’s “Betty Jane”

After the flights, I took him to dinner and we went back to the hotel and talked.  I took him to breakfast the next day and I dropped him back off at the airport and drove back to NH getting there by noon.
It was another great trip in Fiat 500x

Leave a comment