My 1977 Fiat Spider

Posted: August 11, 2015 in 1977 Fiat 124 Spider
Tags: , ,
side-convert

1977 Fiat 124 Spider with Cromodora Alloy Racing Wheels

This is my 1977 Fiat Spider. She was originally a California car and drove route 66 back to New England and Back to California several times in her life.  She has been restored twice.  Is is kinda of a FrakenFiat now. While she is a 1977, her interior and her back lights are from a 1980’s era car.

interior

Inside

The seats have been replaced several times and I am always looking for a seat in better condition when the ones I have.  I also hate the really large steering wheel that the car comes with, so I replaced it with this smaller wooden one.  This car has won awards at the Tutto Italiano Car show at the Larz Anderson Museum of Transportation in Brookline Ma and at the Fiat Freakout National Convention in Long Island in 2013.  We also attended the Fiat Convention held in Valley Forge PA.

1077514_10201716694822963_737991656_o

Grill

I hate the look of the plastic grills in the 1970s spiders so I improvised. I bought a honeycomb grill on Ebay from a 1960’s spider and installed in in mine spider. Then I acquired some badges and a Fiat Badge and installed them. The car looks much better with this grill than the standard grill.

I love this car but it is not a 4 season car. It spends at least half the year in the garage. Now with the 500x, I have a Fiat to drive during the bad weather as well.

Leave a comment